Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

amissus

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 10, 2016
Sylva, NC
I upgraded to a used Mid 09 13" Macbook from a early g5 Imac.
My Macbook has El Capitan(I bought it installed) and it has become unstable. I tried to go back to Mavericks, Yosemite but it won't let me.
I can't be on it more than 10 minutes before it shuts down and shows the multi languages which I hear means "kernel panic". Trolls beware! Yes I'm a newbie and atrocious speller.
I have reinstalled El Capitan and that did not change anything. I was told to got back to previous OS but but I'm not able. What can I do now? (Other that toss it)

CoastalOR

macrumors 68040
Jan 19, 2015
Oregon, USA
I upgraded to a used Mid 09 13" Macbook from a early g5 Imac.
My Macbook has El Capitan(I bought it installed) and it has become unstable. I tried to go back to Mavericks, Yosemite but it won't let me.
I can't be on it more than 10 minutes before it shuts down and shows the multi languages which I hear means "kernel panic".
I have reinstalled El Capitan and that did not change anything. I was told to got back to previous OS but but I'm not able. What can I do now? (Other that toss it)
I'm not sure why you can not revert to a previous OS unless you do not have the needed resources. Here is an article on how to go back to a previous OS. It is the same process for reverting to Yosemite or Mavericks.

Reactions: amissus

amissus

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 10, 2016
Sylva, NC
Thank you for the responses. I've Google this before asking on here so I've done a little leg work and tried to go backwards the normal way. I purchased My Macbook with a new hard drive, new ram and El Capitan installed. I removed the ram and reinstalled. I also reinstalled El Capitan.