Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iThink Apple

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 27, 2011
Hello everyone!

I have been using a iPad Mini 4 for a few years and I think it is time to upgrade :) I want to take the jump and maybe go with the 11" iPad Pro. I don't travel much and this would be used a bit for work at home and for pleasure. I would love to get the Apple Pencil as well and do some basic things and some light video editing. I would love to get your thoughts, is the 11" iPad Pro worth it? Also, I know that technology always evolves but do you guys think this new gen iPad Pro is a good gen to buy or should I wait next year?

Thanks!

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
The iPad Pro can handle all that you mentioned and so much more. It is a wonderful upgrade from an iPad mini 4 much less the iPad mini 5. I had the iPad mini 5 and bought a new iPad Pro 11 (2020) and have had it a week. I have no regrets and have been very satisified. I bought the Apple Pencil as well as the Magic Keyboard. No need to wait.

ericwn

macrumors G5
Apr 24, 2016
The iPad forum is full of experiences - of all kinds. Only you can determine if it’s worth it in your life. Apple offers 2 weeks return policy during which you’re allowed to test the iPad to see if it’s a good fit. I encourage you to do that, and get the accessories you want straight away with it.

Reactions: AE_stc and thexash

Cancelled
Apr 16, 2020
Although I had previous iPad models (including an iPad Pro 10.5), for the past year I had been using an iPad Mini 5 as my only iPad. In May I upgraded to a refurb iPad Pro 12.9 and what an incredible difference. Having so much more screen space and all the other pro features has sold me on staying with iPad Pros from here on out. I use it with the Magic Keyboard, and no longer feel the need for a separate laptop.