Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ClaveMan

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 19, 2011
Saint Louis
I have been using 1Password for 5 years. With DropBox sync from my Mac to my iPhone, it is as close to password vault bliss as you can get (AFAIK)..

As I have done many times, I replaced my old iPhone with another.
As always, I logged into DropBox iOS and then fired up 1Password for iOS.
I expected to enter my agilebits.com email and password.
I was greeted with a prompt for my "1Password for Family" credentials.
WTF? Family??? I looked it up. AgileBits WANTS ME TO RENT SOFTWARE!! Arrrggh..
Every Christmas I ante up $99 to Office 365 or Microsoft won't let me edit my own files.
Its the wet dream of all software companies to get customers to rent software.

Am I screwed? Do I have to rent 1Password for Families for $5/month?
Is there a way to go back to the pre "1Password for Family", pre rental world I used a week ago?
Will restoring my old ipa file onto my iPhone work?

Is there an alternative to 1Password that works with DropBox that I can import 200+ 1Password entries with?

Thank you !!

NonSoft

macrumors member
Jul 24, 2015
Why do you have to enter agilebits.com username and password? I thought that was specifically for team/family accounts?

I have 1password on all my devices and that section(1Password Accounts) is empty.

Also, I was just thinking, did you restore purchases in the app?

Last edited:

ClaveMan

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 19, 2011
Saint Louis
Why do you have to enter agilebits.com username and password? I thought that was specifically for team/family accounts?

I have 1password on all my devices and that section(1Password Accounts) is empty.

OK. I figured it out.