Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BrittWentz

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 22, 2017
Hello!!

I've had the mid-2012 Macbook Pro 13'' (2.9 i7 processor, 8 GB RAM and 750 HDD) for four years now. Recently i started getting the Service Battery warning, so i ran some diagnostics and it seems it needs to be changed.

Apple Diagnostics:
(sorry for the bad picture quality)
WhatsApp Image 2017-11-21 at 23.38.21.jpeg

And Coconut:

Coconut.png

Local Apple Authorised SP gave me a quote of €220 for a new one, but wasn't very clear on how long would it take. I'm a college student, so i can't afford to be without my laptop for long.

So i've started considering getting a new one. My options are:

• Refurbished 2014 Macbook Pro Retina 15' I7 2,2GHZ/16GB/256 SSD for €1,687
  • Refurbished 2014 Macbook Pro Retina 15' I7 2 GHZ/8GB/256 SSD for €1,097
  • New 2017 MacBook Pro 13" i5 3.1GHZ 8GB 256GB w/ Touch Bar for €1,759
  • Refurbished 2017 MacBook Pro 13" i5 3.1GHZ 8GB 256GB w/ Touch Bar for €1,699
My degree requires i use Photoshop and Illustrator quite often, in addition to Premiere Pro, After Effects, Audition, etc... basically most of the suite. I understand CS6 doesn't work very well with the new OS X, and i can't afford the Creative Cloud absurd annual fee.

Considering this, should i pay for the new battery or just get a new one? If so, which of the options would meet my requirements best?

Thanks!

elf69

macrumors 68020
Jun 2, 2016
Cornwall UK
there are good quality 3rd party batteries that would be cheaper and they can be replaced by yourself fairly easy in a 2012 model.

If the machines works and does what you want/need they keep it and save for new one at later date if cost is a problem.
It is for me, I want a 2012 and gotta stick with my 2010 as all can afford.

ZapNZs

macrumors 68020
Jan 23, 2017