Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fraxool

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 18, 2016
Hello,

I am really interested in the 12" Macbook and would like your opinion. I have a budget of around 1000€ for a used one, and I'm hesitating between those two :

- Macbook 12" 2015 M 1,3Ghz with 8Gb RAM and 256Gb SSD
- Macbook 12" 2016 M3 1,1Ghz with 8Gb RAM and 256Gb SSD

I'm a professional freelance developer and I work from home. So this one would be used quite often, but mainly for :

- Web development (Coda 2, Atom)
- App development (mainly with Ionic 2) - but no emulators
- and normal use like web browsing etc.

But I already have a powerful 2014 Macbook Pro 15" i7 for the biggest tasks. However, I would like to buy this Macbook to use it when I am not on the desk (for example, at the end of the day, to continue to work on the couch without a big machine on me) and also when I am travelling. Because of the size of my 15", it's really difficult to use it on my train or plane trips (and I move a lot).

What Macbook will be the most powerful for my use? The 2016 M3 or the M 1,3Ghz 2015?

Thanks!
Axel

svendobbelaere

macrumors regular
Jul 27, 2012
Belgium

Of those two, I would go for the 2016 one, mainly because the graphics are improved.

For reference, I use a Microsoft Surface Pro 4 with 4 GB RAM and a Core M processor, the same one M3-6Y30 as in the 2016 MacBook, and I have no real complaints about its performance.

I choose the M3 because I wanted a fanless machine, and taking into account the restrictions this puts on the device, I think the M3/5/7 are quite good.

Personally, I'm waiting to see what the refresh brings in a few months.

c0ppo

macrumors 68000
Feb 11, 2013
I would also go for the 2016 version. Not just the graphics, but also the battery.
For your type of development, and your requirements of mb12, I really think it is a no brainer.

fraxool

macrumors newbie