Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which one should I get?

• 1) 13", 2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i5, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel Iris Graphics 550

Votes: 4 22.2%
  • 2) 15", 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD, Radeon Pro 460 with 4GB memory

Votes: 14 77.8%

• Total voters

spikionion

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 8, 2017
Hello everyone,

I would love to get your feedback on which MBP I should get. I am a freshman of the computer forensic/ information security track, and I am planning to buy an MBP late 2016, but I am not sure if I should get the 13" with touch bar or the 15". Here are my options:

1) 13", 2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i5, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel Iris Graphics 550
2) 15", 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD, Radeon Pro 460 with 4GB memory

I will mainly use it to run VMs (Windows, Ubuntu) for now, then deal with hacking tools and replicate attacks on protocols, etc... down the road (I don't know how those software work yet). Also, I will use Adobe Suite (mainly Premier and Photoshop) for some light video and photo editing, but I am not gonna use it for gaming at all. My last MBP lasted 6 years (just died couple days ago :( so I want this one to last around 5 years or so. There is a $600 difference in price between the two, and I really want to get some feedbacks before making the purchase.
Thank you so much in advance!

Tri.

spikionion

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 8, 2017
15", definitely. Much more power with the quad-core CPU and dedicated graphics card. This will be vastly beneficial if you're looking to run virtual machines.
Thank you @keysofanxiety! I would love to get the 15" for sure but I can't afford it yet (maybe 2 or 3 more months), that's why I am considering the 13"

Ma2k5

macrumors 68030
Dec 21, 2012
London