Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

2017 MacBook Air or 2018 MacBook Air?

• 2018 MacBook Air

Votes: 31 62.0%
  • 2017 MacBook Air

Votes: 20 40.0%

• Total voters

Ray15

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 7, 2019
Hello,
I’m a college student and I’m trying to decide with MacBook Air to get. I’m not interested in the pros.
My biggest concern is reliability. I want something that will be with me for at least 4 years. So my issue is the 2018 mba keyboard-I don’t want to be dealing with keyboard issues but I really like the display. Also I’m concerned about the age of the 2017. I would probably get the upgraded CPU and 256 ssd. But I’m worried that the 2017 MacBook Air won’t being getting updates and won’t be able to run the software I need for college.
Should I take the risk and go for the 2018 Air? Also if there’s an issue will Apple fix it without AppleCare? Or should I go for the 2017 MacBook Air and risk dealing with outdated software?

Macdctr

macrumors 65816
Nov 25, 2009
Ocean State
If your biggest concern is reliability then go with the 2017 MBA. Even though the 2017 does not have the retina display you will find this laptop to be more reliable than the new 2018 MBA. Go with the i7 2.2 GHz CPU and 8GB RAM when ordering though. The SSD can always be upgraded so if you start off with a 128GB or 256GB SSD you can always upgrade to the NVMe M.2 with much higher capacity storage than what Apple could offer.

I myself would not risk spending over $1k and hope the whole time that I won't have issues with the faulty designed keyboard Apple went with for their current laptops.... especially if you're going to be using your laptop a lot for writing reports and such... not worth it in my opinion.

Ray15

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 7, 2019