Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SweepieNYC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 17, 2018
My 2010 Mac Book Pro is dying on me (constant kernel panic? It reboots constantly and I’ve had it looked at by a Mac expert friend in my IT department who was not able to fix) and I need to replace it with iMac as soon as possible. Choosing iMac over another MBP because I also need new larger monitor.

I am a graphic designer (print) working primarily on my computer at my corporate office, but do a fair bit of work remotely from home. Am no longer doing much freelance work though that may change with time. I often work via GoToMyPC, but because of lagging issues (and because key commands often don’t work via GoToMyPC), I will likely need to work locally on my new Mac and install necessary software. I use Creative Suite—primarily Indesign and Photoshop and Illustrator + font management program + MS Office. I don’t do any motion work or video editing. Do want to link to new iPad Pro in next 6 months. My work files can be stored in the cloud (I use DropBox and iCloud) or on my work computer if they are strictly work (as opposed to freelance) related.

I was hoping for iMac update at Oct 30th event and because I am forced to buy something now, am trying to decide whether to max out the top tiered 2017 machine (more on that below) or go with a straight mid-range model (no special configuration) and possibly trade it in when the newer iMac lines come in. Basically hesitating about spending 3K+ when newer model might appear in 6 months. Unfortunately I can’t wait that long to purchase. Another financial factor is plan to buy new iPad Pro—for personal use + Procreate for illustration and lettering.

So I am considering the top tier iMac with following configuration and looking for ways to trim the costs:
4.2 GHz i7 + 8GB (or 16?) + either 512 GB SSD or the 1Tb SSD.