Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

outatime

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2017
Hi there,
I wanted to upgrade the RAM of my old Mac Pro 3,1 - 2x4 Quad Intel Xeon (Early 2008) up to 64GB of RAM. At this moment, I have 10GB of 800Mhz Kingston RAM installed and with El Capitan 10.11.6 and Adobe CC. It's definitely to slow now.

I'm not sure, if I should go for 8x8GB 800Mhz which is installed right now or better take the 667Mhz. I read somewhere, that it is not recommended to use the whole 64GB of RAM. Is that true?

Is this ebay offer here good? I have no experience with used and refurbished components, but the price looks good.

http://www.ebay.de/itm/8x-8GB-64GB-...%3A719cc59515b0a861ccbcbb7effffbfbf%7Ciid%3A1

Thanks in advance

Best outatime

jeeplj8

macrumors member
Jan 4, 2014
One of the reasons I wanted to upgrade from 3.1 was the memory bus limited to 667. That looks like similar server based memory that I put in my machine several years ago. I went to 32GB and it made a pretty big difference. My new 5.1 has 64, but I have not really stretched its' legs yet.

It does not matter if you put 800mhz or 667, it will still run at 667, so really whatever is cheaper.

Reactions: outatime

outatime

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2017
Ok, thanks. You mean the 3,1 hardware limits it speed anyway? Ok, then i will go for this ebay offer, 159€ for 64GB sounds fair.
[doublepost=1492269675][/doublepost]The question is, if this cheap RAM is trustworthy. I spend money for my Kingston RAM in 2009 and it was quality stuff. But now i dont want to spend too much for this old computer. I found this answer in a apple forum thread: