Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Komodo Rogue

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 10, 2010
Pennsylvania
Hello,

I'm having trouble deciding how much RAM I should purchase on a new base 13" MBP.

I am a graduate student. When I am doing my most computer-intensive work, I have multiple safari pages open, a word document or two, Kindle for textbooks, and at least 3 PDFs open.

All in all, I think it's a pretty light workload. However, on my late 2013 MBP with 8 GB RAM, things really slow down when I have everything open and I try to quickly move between windows, even just copying and pasting text between the kindle into the word document.

16 GB RAM for these tasks seems like overkill, right? But on the other hand, my laptops typically last me 4-5 years, and I'd hate to regret my decision. But then again, if I'm not using the extra RAM, it's just $200 wasted and extra battery drained.

What are your thoughts?

Closingracer

macrumors 601
Jul 13, 2010
It wouldn’t be much of a battery drain if it’s not being used. For $200 I would get the extra RAM imho. Better off having it then not since you can’t upgrade it later on. On a windows machine where it’s upgradable I would say don’t bother.

Reactions: Komodo Rogue

Adamantoise

macrumors 6502a
Aug 1, 2011
I was really hoping y'all would say "8GB is fine, don't waste your money." Sigh.

Thanks for the feedback!

Well to be honest, 8gb is actually fine depending on what you're going to use the computer for.

If you're just going to browse the web, send emails etc, you won't notice the difference.

If however you're going to be using programs like Photoshop and Lightroom etc, then that $200 is money well spent.

jonobin

macrumors 6502
Sep 3, 2014
Well, it depends on how much do you plan to keep that mac. If you plan to keep it until-it-dies definitely go for the 16gb option

CodeJoy

macrumors 6502
Apr 3, 2018