Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America
I am in a bit of a pickle and I'm wondering what to do soon. You see I am a student holding onto a 5D with only one Canon lens but my financial future isn't rosy and I'm considering selling my 5D for another cheaper SLR and some cash. However if I think long term, I could keep the 5D till I'm well out of Uni and try to get through as it is now and that would save me money in a different way.

My reasoning behind this is that since I am a photography student, do I REALLY need the 5D because I think I don't? I can get by easily with a cheaper DSLR and I have one in mind. So I think I should sell it, but I know that I wouldn't be able to get a camera of that caliber again for a while long after I finish Uni.

What would you guys do if you needed money or wanted to keep the 5D?

jbernie

macrumors 6502a
Nov 25, 2005
Denver, CO
I am in a bit of a pickle and I'm wondering what to do soon. You see I am a student holding onto a 5D with only one Canon lens but my financial future isn't rosy and I'm considering selling my 5D for another cheaper SLR and some cash. However if I think long term, I could keep the 5D till I'm well out of Uni and try to get through as it is now and that would save me money in a different way.

My reasoning behind this is that since I am a photography student, do I REALLY need the 5D because I think I don't? I can get by easily with a cheaper DSLR and I have one in mind. So I think I should sell it, but I know that I wouldn't be able to get a camera of that caliber again for a while long after I finish Uni.

What would you guys do if you needed money or wanted to keep the 5D?