Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NeGRit0

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2008
Las Vegas, Nv
Ok, so yesterday my gf bought me a sigma 70-300mm dg macro for my Canon XTi. I had told her that i wanted a macro lens cause i like to shoot little things. Bugs, and such.

Imagine my surprise when i try the lens out only to find the minimum focusing distance is 3'... So i have a couple questions about this lens.

1. Is this a quality lens? It's a lot heavier than the kit lens. Are 'pro' lenses much heavier?

2. What would this lens be best for shooting?

3. What lens would i need to be able to shoot the tiny stuff?

I think that's it... Thanks in advance for your help, and remember i'm just a novice. Only in my second week at university.

macmike47

macrumors regular
Jan 8, 2007
On the road
Hey, this isn't a pro lens I'm afraid. It'll be fine for most long-range shots, assuming there's enough light, but it's not a 'true' macro lens. If you want to shoot bugs, you'd be best off with a canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro. I've got one and it's amazing. (the real macro lenses tend to have a fixed focal length)

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
1. Is this a quality lens? It's a lot heavier than the kit lens. Are 'pro' lenses much heavier?

2. What would this lens be best for shooting?

3. What lens would i need to be able to shoot the tiny stuff?

1. it's not really a quality lens. depending on whether yours is the APO version or not, it's either ok-but-not-too-good or just good, from what I gather. 'pro' lenses vary in size and weight. Canon's are labeled with an L, Sigma with EX, and Tokina with "Pro" (basically all Tokinas are built well now, though).

2. anything that needs the reach.