Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tonysyl

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 5, 2010
Im a commercial photographer. Ive got about 18 external hard drives all 1TB or better. Thats all fine and dandy I guess, BUT, here is the question. Does anyone have any advice on cloning my computer so that if I loose the drive in the computer I wont have to go thru the problem of reinstalling every program
I have. Ive got tons of stuff that I have made actions for and presets that I dont want to chance loosing either. Apple said that time machine will do it, but, a guy at the apple store said it will only do the data, not the programs.
Any help here?
thanks
t

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
Time Machine will save everything on your HDD, including applications. But the backup is not bootable, therefore you might want to look into CarbonCopyCloner and SuperDuper.

MRoogle will give you more detailed answers though.

flosseR

macrumors 6502a
Jan 1, 2009
the cold dark north
I second the Time machine option. I had to recover my Wifes machine once... was a piece of cake with TM. We have now a dedicated TM drive for her not one shared as earlier
:D

jaseone

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2004
Houston, USA
Time Machine backups may not be bootable but it is straight forward to do a clean install and use the Time Machine backup to restore all your apps & data, using other drive cloning solutions are once offs so you would need to regularly clone your entire drive to keep up to date bootable solutions.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Im a commercial photographer. Ive got about 18 external hard drives all 1TB or better. Thats all fine and dandy I guess, BUT, here is the question. Does anyone have any advice on cloning my computer so that if I loose the drive in the computer I wont have to go thru the problem of reinstalling every program