Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

flinch13

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 4, 2004
I'm a nature and landscape photographer, and I'm thinking of selling in a gallery. My question: is a 50% commission a rip-off? It's better than iStockphoto, especially if I'm selling a piece for a couple hundred dollars. Any ideas?

Everythingisnt

macrumors 6502a
Jan 16, 2008
Vancouver
It really depends on your prices and your audience. Most fine art photographers exhibition in large galleries where they can control the size of the prints hanging on the walls, etc.. It is also considered more 'professional' to have pieces displayed in a gallery.

However it ultimately depends on your prices and the amount of traffic you envision having. If you are a fine art photographer selling pieces for around 3,000 - 6,000 dollars, then a gallery suits your needs. However, if you are selling pieces for 50 - 100 dollars, then online is probably a good idea because it gives you alot of coverage and a bigger potential audience..

Sorry if this didn't really help with your question.. It's mainly based off of my observations.

flinch13

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 4, 2004
Okay, here's a better question. Supposing my cost for printing and other materials (matting, etc), is around $70 for a 12 inch x 46 inch panorama. What exactly should I charge for such an image? These are enormous panoramas that took a very long time to put together and color correct; they are flawless and printed professionally. I was initially thinking I should sell them at around $200, but with the price the gallery would be charging me (50%), I'd be left over with $30 after initial costs, which is crazy. What's a reasonable price? $600? I figure that would be a more reasonable profit, but obviously harder to sell. Basically I'm stuck... what to do?

Everythingisnt

macrumors 6502a
Jan 16, 2008
Vancouver