Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

basesloaded190

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Oct 16, 2007
Wisconsin
i was looking at my schools software website and i can get lightroom for under $100. i downloaded a trial version and am playing around with it right now. i am a beginner when it comes to photography and editing. is this too much for me right now? should i just play around with iphoto or is this a really good deal and i should just get it and teach myself how to use the software to its fullest?

M@lew

macrumors 68000
Nov 18, 2006
Melbourne, Australia
Get it if you can afford it. It's much "better" than iPhoto and you'll probably want it eventually, unless you go for Aperture etc. which is pretty much the same area of program.

jtblueberry

macrumors regular
Dec 20, 2007
Pismo Beach, CA
Get it if you are thinking about shooting in RAW at all. It makes shooting everything in RAW easy if you want to. The organizational tools are nice too. It may be overkill for you but it's an incredible deal at that price...just know its gonna take a little time to learn (I think it's pretty intuitive).

phiberglass

macrumors 6502a
Oct 3, 2007
I would only get it if you plan to shoot in raw and use it as an editor. IMO I would go with Aperture and not LightRoom.

Suspended
Dec 29, 2007
i was looking at my schools software website and i can get lightroom for under $100. i downloaded a trial version and am playing around with it right now. i am a beginner when it comes to photography and editing. is this too much for me right now? should i just play around with iphoto or is this a really good deal and i should just get it and teach myself how to use the software to its fullest?

If you don't want it, buy it and send it to me :)