Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

piethief

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2009
Hey everyone!

I have been looking at taking up photography as a hobby recently, and I was hoping to get some much needed advice from some knowledgeable folks :)

The main question is obvious. If you had to suggest a camera for a total novice, then what would it be?

Price is an issue, but I am willing to dish a little extra for a solid piece of equipment.

Any other friendly advice for a starter would be very appreciated !

edit: digital cameras :)

Hey everyone!

I have been looking at taking up photography as a hobby recently, and I was hoping to get some much needed advice from some knowledgeable folks :)

The main question is obvious. If you had to suggest a camera for a total novice, then what would it be?

Price is an issue, but I am willing to dish a little extra for a solid piece of equipment.

I would suggest getting the Canon A2e with a VG10 vertical grip. That was the camera I learned on and I just purchased a used one for my nephew as he is taking his first photo class this year in high school. Its a fantastic camera. It was actually aimed at the consumer market yet quickly became a favorite for a lot of professionals back in the day.

Its an amazing camera. Simply google some reviews of it and you will get all the details about it. You can find a great condition A2e for around a hundred bucks with the grip costing around 15-20 bucks.

My single piece of advice is start with film and move up to digital. I cannot stress this point enough!!

jaseone

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2004
Houston, USA
My single piece of advice is start with film and move up to digital. I cannot stress this point enough!!

Err why?