Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mae.Vie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 7, 2016
Hi everyone!

I am new to the macbook world, though I have owned a few ipads and currently have an iphone 4s (i know, I know). I'm dipping into the waters of the macbook world though (mainly out of curiosity - I love my tech) and wanted to know what you guys thought.

I am currently bidding on a mba 2008 model (2gb, 80gb harddrive), and I wondered whether this would be suitable for what I need? I'm looking to do mostly word processing on the go and perhaps the odd youtube video if I'm bored! I know laptops slow down after a few years but I've been assured this has had a new harddrive put in, and the battery is apparently pretty good.

I just wanted to know what people thought - would a mba 2008 do the job for me? Or should I go for something a little newer?

Many thanks!

Jago

macrumors regular
Jul 5, 2013
Hi everyone!

I am new to the macbook world, though I have owned a few ipads and currently have an iphone 4s (i know, I know). I'm dipping into the waters of the macbook world though (mainly out of curiosity - I love my tech) and wanted to know what you guys thought.

I am currently bidding on a mba 2008 model (2gb, 80gb harddrive), and I wondered whether this would be suitable for what I need? I'm looking to do mostly word processing on the go and perhaps the odd youtube video if I'm bored! I know laptops slow down after a few years but I've been assured this has had a new harddrive put in, and the battery is apparently pretty good.

I just wanted to know what people thought - would a mba 2008 do the job for me? Or should I go for something a little newer?

Many thanks!