Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gazfocus

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 3, 2008
Liverpool, UK
Well...valentines day is coming and although not the most romantic gift but I am looking to buy my girlfriend a digital camera. The idea is, the camera will be the first gift of the day and so I am looking for one that can be taken out of the box and she can take it out with us and take as many photos as she likes.

However, coming from a dSLR, I'm not sure what to buy her. I am particularly looking for a compact camera that no camera knowledge is required to operate. I was looking at the Nikon Coolpix L18 or either a Canon Powershot A470 or A480.

Can anyone give me advice?

Thanks

macrumors 65816
Oct 31, 2007
Washington D.C. Area
While I'm no expert in photography, the Canon Powershot SD1100 is a really great camera I've found. I've found their entire compact/subcompact line to be very good, so anything similar to the SD1100 I would recommend.

luminosity

macrumors 65816
Jan 10, 2006
Arizona
Well, if you've got the money for it, a Canon G10 (or G9) might be a good call. Great features, but all in a compact camera frame.

Apple Ink

macrumors 68000
Mar 7, 2008
First gift... means more expensive ones to follow... he he

The A470/480 is your best bets. Get the 480 if you can.. its relatively new! They are cheap and real good performers for their value!

Something more expensive.... the A2000 IS is another option!

P.S.: I currently own a Canon DSLR system and a Canon A470 for times when heft is not a permissible option o_O

shady825

macrumors 68000
Oct 8, 2008
Area 51
While I'm no expert in photography, the Canon Powershot SD1100 is a really great camera I've found. I've found their entire compact/subcompact line to be very good, so anything similar to the SD1100 I would recommend.

I second this.