Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Boots-

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 27, 2009
Canada
Hello, I'm an amature photographer shooting with a fujifilm s1500. I'm helping the schools yearbook by taking photos at winter carnival, which takes place next week. I would like to help out by taking pictures at the dances. It would be dark and there would be lights as usual. What are the best settings for this? Also there is a major floor hockey tournament. What are the best settings for this. The gym is usually bright for this. Please help out and recomend settings and tips. Thanks in advance!

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Your not going to get great shots with that camera. Best advice would be to go to manual (if the camera has it), open the aperture as wide as it can go and take as many shots as you can. You might be lucky to get 1/10th of your shots in acceptable focus and blurriness, and another 1/10th of those suitable for publication.

kallisti

macrumors 68000
Apr 22, 2003
I would suggest doing some test shots at various ISO settings and see how high you can go before the noise becomes unacceptable. My guess is that it will be either ISO 400 or possibly 800. Higher ISO will let your shutter speed be faster, which will be important when handholding in dim light or when freezing action.

You will also have to decide if you will be able to use flash for the dance pictures. The flash going off will tend to annoy people (bad). You will probably have a higher percentage of keepers if you use flash though (good). I'd suggest using the "slow sync" setting if your camera has it--this will allow more of the background to be exposed (and thus visible in the final photo).

leandroc76

macrumors regular
Oct 27, 2003