Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mthao00

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 24, 2007
I plan on purchasing a Nikon d40x in the near future. Probably in the next couples weeks or so. I'm basically a beginner upgrading from a Canon Powershot, which is awesome for what it is.

I don't need advice about purchasing the d40x but on how I can make my shots look like these pictures (see below). I love the look of them. Is it a filter, camera setting or photoshop editing? Remember, I'm a beginner with no photography training background whatsoever. I'm learning now but want higher quality pictures. However, I am a photoshop user.

Thanks in advance. Forgive me... haha...

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    139.8 KB · Views: 137
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    179.4 KB · Views: 97

epicwelshman

macrumors 6502a
Apr 6, 2006
Nassau, Bahamas
it looks like photoshopping... maybe some levels, curves, sharpening, desaturation etc.

It's not easy to just say how to duplicate shots... your best option is to just keep experimenting

HckySo

macrumors 6502
Apr 9, 2006
turn around
I suggest you look into purchasing the Lucisart plugin for Photoshop. That plug-in is the secret behind a lot of high end photographers out there. ;)

But yeah that's photoshop.

mthao00

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 24, 2007
Thanks for the advice. I originally thought it was photoshopped but wondered if there was some kind of filter that would achieve the same look.

The Lucisart plugin "looks" like a wonderful tool. Thanks for the heads-up on that.

By the way, I plan on using this look in some of my future advertising. I'm starting to build my portfolio.

Any more advice or opinions on achieving this gritty look... would be nice...

bartelby

macrumors Core
Jun 16, 2004
That Lucisart website is horrible!

At $169 I'd expect more.
Learn how to use Photoshop and you'd be able to do most of what that plug-in can do.