Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

donmei

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 8, 2007
Hi all. I posted a similar question in the Mac Beginners section a couple of weeks ago and did not get an adequate response.

I'm hoping some of you pros can assist.
In a nutshell, I am an amateur photo enthusiast. I went digital (to some degree) in 2001, although I still do some film.

I've got my pictures and my music on a NAS that is backed up regularly.
I have created a very organized folder structure that allows me to find photos reasonably quickly. I MUST preserve this structure.

When I got the Mac I pointed itunes at the root folder where all my music is stored. It built an index but did not change any of the actual data.
The benefit of this is that I maintain 1 store of music and am able to access it from my mac via itunes or a Vista MCE PC, or even an old xp machine I have in the office.

I'd like to accomplish the same thing with photos. But nothing in apples documentation distinguishes whether iphoto just builds an index of the files where they are, or if it actually moves the files.

Another question is if the metadata that is added to pictures in iphoto exists in the index or is actually added to the photo file. And if so, is it a standards based metadata that can also be read by a windows machine (Exif?)

My goal is to be able to use the clever cataloging features in iPhoto08 while preserving the integrity of my manually created folder heirarchy, and by extension preserving the ability to access the photos from any network attached device in my home, be it Mac, windows, linux, or even ethernet picture frame.

So, what is the story? how does iphoto work. Thanks for your help.

Don

AxisOfBeagles

macrumors 6502
Apr 22, 2008
Top of the South