Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

WU27f1xcCs

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 18, 2022
I’m new to AirPods, and have had the AirPod Pro 2 a week. I use YouTube a lot for videos and music and I’m having issues frequently.

The videos stop playing randomly, and to fix it I have to change the audio output to iPhone, and skip back 10 seconds and then toggle back to AirPods.

Less frequently the skip button on adverts doesn’t work, it just stays at ”skip in 5 seconds” throughout the entire advert.

This video stopping playing only happens on my iPhone 12, it doesn’t happen with YouTube on my iPad, or with any other app. The advert thing happens on both.

Is there any fix for this, I use YouTube a lot, so can’t really live with this issue.

Last edited:

Lotuskid

macrumors 6502
May 23, 2010
I’m new to AirPods, and have had the AirPod Pro 2 a week. I use YouTube a lot for videos and music and I’m having issues frequently.

The videos stop playing randomly, and to fix it I have to change the audio output to iPhone, and skip back 10 seconds and then toggle back to AirPods.

Less frequently the skip button on adverts doesn’t work, it just stays at ”skip in 5 seconds” throughout the entire advert.

This video stopping playing only happens on my iPhone 12, it doesn’t happen with YouTube on my iPad, or with any other app. The advert thing happens on both.

Is there any fix for this, I use YouTube a lot, so can’t really live with this issue.
Similar behavior on my AirPods. I bought a second pair on the chance it’s hardware related but second pair is the same

Misheemee

macrumors 6502
Feb 28, 2020

Are you on iOS 16.2?

dstew201

macrumors 6502a
Jan 6, 2016
I’ve been having the same issue… so far it’s happening only with the YouTube app, my other streaming services seem to be fine.

Heaven forbid I try to fast forward the video just stops. I suspect the app is due for an update.