Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

guatelize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2015

guatelize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2015
If they implement the AirPlay protocol in same way, as Apple devices do, then yes.

Thanks for your reply, but due to the fact I'm not very experienced in the AirPlay protocol, can you inform me more what it means.
Thanks for your cooperation.
Regards
Oliver

guatelize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2015
Thanks, but the purpose was to send Airplay audio from my Iphone to transit to one device (Airplay Extreme) which redirects it to the 3 Sony speakers simultaneously.
Regards
Olivier

jdag

macrumors 6502a
Jun 15, 2012
I don't use AirPlay (other than for AppleTV). But I believe from within iTunes you could select all 3 speakers at the same time to direct audio to them. I don't think you can do that via any app other than iTunes.

Alternately, you could use an Airport Express (not Extreme), connect a 3.5mm cable to the Express, then add a splitter and 3.5mm cable to each of your 3 speakers. That is a really clunky way to do it though.

You will need to read the Sony documentation as to whether it is possible to do what you want via the Ethernet port. My guess is that it would not be possible via AirPlay but via the Sony software (much like Sonos).

guatelize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2015
Thanks, I was thinking the same clunky way to connect the Express with a 3.5mm cable & splitter.

priitv8

macrumors 601
Jan 13, 2011
Estonia
I don't use AirPlay (other than for AppleTV). But I believe from within iTunes you could select all 3 speakers at the same time to direct audio to them. I don't think you can do that via any app other than iTunes.
You are right! iPhone refuses to output to multiple AirPlay targets simultaneously. Unless there is some clever app to do that.