Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BOOSTD

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 8, 2007
So Im relatively new to photography. I've been seriously involved in it for less than a year now and, although I still cant produce them, I know a great photograph when I see one. I also recently learned about HDR photography. I think its a great form of photography which can produce amazing photographs, but only when used sparingly. Having looked at many HDR pictures on the web and on this forum, I have noticed that many of these photographs would be mediocre at best and some are, to put it simply, boring. However, some of the most banal photographs, having been converted to HDR, get the most attention and praise. Am I missing the point of HDR? When I see some of these pictures, I see a snapshot, but it seems like many people fall head over heals for them and think their great. Is HDR more difficult than I think? I even tried my hand at HDR and took a picture from my apartment. I think it looks neat, but aside from that, its not an interesting photograph. Please enlighten me if Im missing the point of HDR.

BOOSTD

Here's the shot that I took and converted to HDR in Photoshop. It was a bad picture before HDR and its still a bad picture after HDR.

Attachments

• First night exposure 2.jpg
    First night exposure 2.jpg
    963.3 KB · Views: 173

SolracSelbor

macrumors 6502
Nov 26, 2007