Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nessdufrat

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 19, 2015
Between France and Switzerland
hi everybody!
Still in the process of fixing the iMac I found in the trash (other thread), but I've been thinking about buying an old Mac Pro for 3D. I'm not a pro or anything, I'm mostly "having fun" with architectural design and such for the moment. I've been doing stuff a few years back on my MacBook Pro 17" (late 2011, quad core 2.5ghz, 16gb ram, 256gb Samsung 840 pro SSD, so you know the specs for comparison) but I'd prefer a desktop as my MacBook Pro is having cooling problems (like it is very well know on this machine) and as it's my main work computer, I don't really like to leave it for hours doing renders.

I've been looking at some ads, and I found one that could be interesting, but I'm not sure, because I'm not really a pro in that kind of things. At first, I was aiming for a PC, but the price was out of my range, and also, I strongly dislike Windows 10 and I'll probably end up being forced to install it because of drivers and such. I use 3ds max design, I'm using bootcamp and Windows 7 ultimate 64 on my MacBook Pro, so I was intending on doing the same on a future machine if I ended up buying a mac, because it's working quite well.

From what I gathered talking to some people in the 3D business, what matters the most is the number of cores. 12 cores, I cannot even dream of, 8 cores, yeah, right, maybe in a few years. But 6 cores would be really great, and it would be a nice upgrade from my 4 cores MacBook Pro.