Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dxpx

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 21, 2008
the 405, OK
So - I'm seriously considering purchasing a Nikon DSLR after much study through these forums and what have you. However, my most recent hang-up deals with the sensitivity capacity of certain models.

Bare in mind, I'm a beginner photographer - but look forward to eliminating visual "noise" in low-light environments by acquiring a DSLR that is capable of high sensitive scenarios.

Okay! The D40 lists levels ranging from "200 to 1600 (ISO equivalent) in steps of 1 EV with additional setting one step over 1600."

My first question - is 1600 a high enough level for say street-light, candle-light, subway environments? Again, I'm a beginner and thus - not too familiar with the science of DSLR - but my Casio 5MP Exilim can be manually set to 1600 ISO, yet is worthless in these particular fields of view.

2ndly, what does it mean "with additional setting one step over 1600?" So - the limit isnt 1600?

Furthermore, the D60 lists a similar campaign "ISO 100 - 1,600 in steps of 1 EV. Can also be set to approx. 1 EV (ISO 3200 equivalent) above ISO 1600"

I'm so confused as to how something can be set over a limitation. :confused:

Of couse, the D3 would likely annihilate any predecessor; however, I unfortunately do not have 5 grand to spare.

I think that covers it all! I appreciate any feedback!

[Derek]

termina3

macrumors 65816
Jul 16, 2007
TX
Nikon usually offers one step higher and lower on ISO (100 is Lo 1.0, and 1.0 steps below 200. 1600 -> 3200 (AKA ISO Hi 1.0) is one step).

If you want the best "bang for your buck" on ISO, I'd suggest the D300. However, it's not a beginners camera.