Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tinchohs

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 5, 2007
Uruguay
I was wondering if anyone have any information about an Aperture refresh. It's coming this time in the refresh cycle where I begin to wonder Apple's commitment to this application. Given how much I have vested on it (not only I am a certified trainer, but I also use it for all my photography archive). In any case, if there is anything you know that you can share, it would be appreciated it. If you know and cannot share, it would be good to know if Apple is still planning a serious refresh.

RaceTripper

macrumors 68030
May 29, 2007
I am also interested to hear. I use ALR now but may switch to Aperture. I am near the end of the trial period but don't want to buy it only to see it upgraded a month later.

I am hoping they upgrade it for Snow Leopard to take advantage of GPU processing. I do (amateur) motorsports photography and one of the biggest bottlenecks for me is getting 1:1 pixel previews for culling (about 4K photos for an event). I just got a new 3.06 GHz MBP 15, so I'd like to see Aperture take advantage of it under Snow Leopard.

Part of me wonders if the next Aperture will be Snow Leopard only and it will get announced when Snow Leopard ships.

nutmac

macrumors 603
Mar 30, 2004
According to the rumors, Aperture 3.0 was originally slated to ship by end of the summer. It is supposed to add full geocode support, and expected to receive face recognition tagging from iPhoto '09. Beyond that, little else is known.

Here's my wishlist though:
  • Compressive lens correction (similar to Lightroom), such as CA, vignetting
  • Full IPCT and XMP support. Browse by lens type.
  • Better noise reduction.
  • Faster, it's still dog slow in many cases.
  • Support for sRAW and latest RAW formats, ideally without requiring OS patch release.
  • HDR.
  • More customizable UI and views.