Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Meindert

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 13, 2017
Thailand
I am thinking to purchase a M2 SSD but can not find the bracket that I need to place the M.2 SSD into my Mac-mini 2011
Anyone who knows where to buy this replacement item ?

Thank you
Meindert

treekram

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2015
Honolulu HI
If you look on an Amazon site, you should be able to find something. If you can't order from a particular Amazon site, you can get product names/models and read reviews. Search for "M2 to sata enclosure". Something like the following (I have no experience with it):
https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-2-5-Inch-Aluminum-Enclosure-EC-M2SA/dp/B01N6PMZLW

You should get a product which is meant to permanently house the SSD vs. one which is used to temporarily hold the SSD for data transfer.

Just be aware of the following:
1) You need a M.2 SATA SSD (not PCIe-NVMe or PCIe-AHCI) SSD.
2) It's very unlikely that Apple will use M.2 SATA in future products.
3) In general M.2 SATA isn't any faster than regular SATA although there may be some models where a feature is available with M.2 that isn't with regular SATA.

Meindert

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 13, 2017
Thailand
Thank you for the information Just wanted to get more information and heard it was a lot faster but I will check it out and do some more reading.
Found on Amazon indeed already some more stuff to read and perhaps learn.

treekram

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2015
Honolulu HI
I forgot to mention - make sure you get something no taller than 7mm (the Sabrent is 7mm).