Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Geniusdog254

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 20, 2008
I have really started to pick up on taking good shots, but I am a spontaneous photographer. I rarely, if ever, control the lighting & that usually ends up a problem for me.

Are there any good tutorials for Photoshop that you can share? I don't have Aperture or Lightroom, just Photoshop, so please don't tell me to use them or give me tutorials for them lol, I just need a basic Photoshop tutorial to increase lighting, improve colors, things like that.

Thanks in advance all!

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
The range of post-modification also depends what kind of images you shoot. Do you use RAW or just simple JPEG?
With RAW you can modify much more than with a simple JPEG, as it gives your more freedom to change the white balance, exposure, black/white levels, ..... . With JPEG you have no such information left in your images and just rely on the filters and image adjustment tools.

lay-adjust-menu.gif

via http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en-us&q=photoshop+image+adjustments&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

For tutorials:
http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en-us&q=photoshop+tutorials&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
I rarely, if ever, control the lighting & that usually ends up a problem for me.

Photoshop will get you the last 10 percent, but the first 90 percent needs to happen at the moment of capture. If you're shooting outdoors, try to favor the "golden hours" that occur just after sunrise and just before sunset. That's when the sun is low and its light is passing through more atmosphere, making the light warmer in temperature, softer, and more revealing.