Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

princealfie

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Mar 7, 2006
Salt Lake City UT
Hi folks,

just wondering whether anyone here uses a film camera in addition to their digital outfit. I am glad to use a Leica M6, R8, and Contax outfits. There are a lot of reasons why I still use film and especially if you're stuck in a place without electricity very easily.
...:cool:

Erendiox

macrumors 6502a
Oct 15, 2004
Brooklyn NY
As of now, I ONLY shoot film, although, i'm not a professional. Just a student. I can't attest to films economic value in terms of profit. What I can attest to is the quality you get with film in comparison to digital. I love the film look. It provides much more depth and handles highlights beautifully. I shoot with a 25 year old Olympus OM-1 and just recently came into possession of a Nikkon N6006 with a 70-210mm autofocus lens. The Nikkon gets great quality along with lots of convenient automatic options, but the autofocus and shutter are both loud as hell. I still prefer my antique Olympus for being discreet, which is my style as a photographer. I also prefer the feel of a full manual camera. There's nothing quite like the lever advance after each shot, the mechanical click of the shutter. There's much more character and substance in that.

Peyton

macrumors 68000
Feb 2, 2006
I don't I find it too clumsy and I hate importing them into a computer, new wifi digitals are so easy and fun... I'm not a pro tho...

sjl

macrumors 6502
Sep 15, 2004
Melbourne, Australia
princealfie said:
Hi folks,

just wondering whether anyone here uses a film camera in addition to their digital outfit. I am glad to use a Leica M6, R8, and Contax outfits. There are a lot of reasons why I still use film and especially if you're stuck in a place without electricity very easily.
...:cool: