Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bfowler

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 22, 2008
I would like some input re Aperature 2 vs some of the other photo processing tools that are available. Just getting started with digital photography and find the possibilities are pretty much endless

nando2323

macrumors 6502a
Aug 15, 2007
I just started to use Aperture 2 and I find the interface to be very user friendly. I am a beginner also with it so I really don't know much about it.

Macmonter

macrumors regular
Aug 14, 2008
Vermont, USA
I would like some input re Aperature 2 vs some of the other photo processing tools that are available. Just getting started with digital photography and find the possibilities are pretty much endless

I'm in the same boat as you as to wanting to learn more about the different photo handling programs! I got my new Mac with Photoshop Elements and I find it cumbersome to perform "open" and "save to" between it and iPhoto because I have to use Bridges as an intermediator. On my old PC with PS Elements, I could easily move between it and my folders with archived images. Aperture and Lightroom appear to simplify retrieving/editing/saving images - I think!

nando2323

macrumors 6502a
Aug 15, 2007
I'm in the same boat as you as to wanting to learn more about the different photo handling programs! I got my new Mac with Photoshop Elements and I find it cumbersome to perform "open" and "save to" between it and iPhoto because I have to use Bridges as an intermediator. On my old PC with PS Elements, I could easily move between it and my folders with archived images. Aperture and Lightroom appear to simplify retrieving/editing/saving images - I think!

Yeah it does make it easier to retrieve/edit/saving images specially with the vault function. I have not really tried it but I would give the Aperture tutorials on the apple site a look.

H2Ockey

macrumors regular