Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

phas3

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 5, 2008
I can't seem to decide I'm a beginner in photography, I will be shooting with a nikon d40 I don't know if that helps but which program would you guys recommend?

swiftaw

macrumors 603
Jan 31, 2005
Omaha, NE, USA
Here we go again :D

They are both very good. It is a matter of preference. There are many threads on this forum debating the pros and cons of both.

Both have 30 day free trials. Download both and see which one you prefer.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I can't seem to decide I'm a beginner in photography, I will be shooting with a nikon d40 I don't know if that helps but which program would you guys recommend?

Why don't you want to use iPhoto? Ok good reasons to want the others but your answer about why you don't like iPhoto will tell us about which of the other two is best for you. For example if you don't like the way iPhoto organizes images into a library you won't like Aperture because it does the same thing.

I'd say stick with iPhoto until you can list out several good reasons to switch.

You can donload and try out both LR and Aperture and use them for 30 days for free. But be warned it really will take 30 days, working every night, to do a fair evaluation. Both are large complex programs.

phas3

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 5, 2008
well i have both aperture and light room, aperture seems to run sluggish and i like lightrooms way of importing photos. I guess ill just have both installed on my laptop then? and keep messing with them till i know which to keep.

wheezy

macrumors 65816
Apr 7, 2005
Alpine, UT
well i have both aperture and light room, aperture seems to run sluggish