Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pigbat

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 18, 2005
I'm far from an Aperture pro and just can't seem to figure this one out. What can I do to take some glare off the forehead when you catch it. I'm attaching a sample picture. There is slight glare on the upper left side of the forehead.

Attachments

• IMG_0164_med.jpg
    IMG_0164_med.jpg
    69.6 KB · Views: 163

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
It's my opinion that the kind of spot retouching you need to do is done through perhaps Photoshop elements, Photoshop, paint shop pro, gimp, or like applications. Aperture will fix the exposure issue though.

pigbat

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 18, 2005
If it's RAW you might be able to just play around with the levels until it's gone. Or you can use the dodge and burn tool to burn it darker.

It's RAW and I played with it quite a bit but this was as good as I could get it. Drat! Dodge and burn was what I was looking for but couldn't find the tool. I'll keep looking.

pigbat

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 18, 2005
It's my opinion that the kind of spot retouching you need to do is done through perhaps Photoshop elements, Photoshop, paint shop pro, gimp, or like applications. Aperture will fix the exposure issue though.

Thanks, I was thinking about pulling it into elements but I've been playing with Aperture trying to learn the tool. I was hoping I could do it all in one.

anubis

macrumors 6502a
Feb 7, 2003
See, this is the problem with Aperture... aside from the Dodge and Burn tools (which are destructive edits that require the creation of a huge TIFF file, btw), there is no localized editing possible. Which is why Lightroom is a huge step up from Aperture.

Oops, didn't mean to start another Aperture vs Lightroom thread ;)

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California