Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

noodle654

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 2, 2005
Never Ender
Hi everybody,

I currently own a Nikon D80 with a 18-135mm lens. I love the camera, but I just want to see if I am doing everything right to get the most out of my camera and Aperture. I tried both LightRoom and Aperture, and I have decided to use Aperture. I am new to editing really...I have done lots of stuff in iPhoto, but I am looking to do more with my photos.

-On my Nikon I have the pictures on RAW instead of JPEG-Fine. Is this the best quality. Also, how should I import; through the USB on the camera, or a card reader? Does it even matter?

-When exporting my photos, what is the highest quality I can use? JPG seems to be a bit low.

I am still learning the ropes on Aperture and I wanted to see what people thought of a picture that I took a few days ago. I have attached 2 photos, taken on different days. Tell me what you think, and if you can do better could you post your editing? Or, just tell me what you think it needs.

Thanks a bunch MR friends!

Attachments

• DSC_0853.JPG.jpg
    DSC_0853.JPG.jpg
    568 KB · Views: 89
  • DSC_0870.JPG.jpg
    DSC_0870.JPG.jpg
    400.8 KB · Views: 59
  • DSC_0905.JPG.jpg
    DSC_0905.JPG.jpg
    464.3 KB · Views: 61

Jan 30, 2006
RAW is the best format you can shoot, and the one you should use if you plan to edit your photos.

As for exporting, .tiff is the best format, but file sizes are incredibly large. JPEG in quality set to 12 and 300dpi is quite the best solution I use normally.

Your photos aren't that bad technically speaking. I tend to prefer warmer photos when they are at the ocean, it makes the and look great.

Adding a little contrast also helps, this is one quick try I gave to one photo.

EDIT: with the RAW file you could keep more detail and make the clouds look more real. My retouch made the clouds look rather blown-out.