Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Viljami

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 7, 2008
I am new to Aperture and would be glad if you could help me with the following issues:

1. I like to shoot with my 40D usually so that each photo is saved both in raw and jpeg format, as this enables me to choose fast to keep raw format only for the best shots. When importing now photos to Ap, I cannot find the jpeg formats at all, all the photos appear only in raw format. In iPhoto I always got these two formats side by side. How could I get importing in Ap to work similarly in this respect?

2. If I have a photo in Ap only in raw format, how can I transform it into jpeg (in case the photo is not that good, but I want to keep it and save some space) ?

3. How can you get the focus spot visible while editing photos?

Hopefully these are not too stupid questions to be asked here.

kkat69

macrumors 68020
Aug 30, 2007
Atlanta, Ga
I am new to Aperture and would be glad if you could help me with the following issues:

1. I like to shoot with my 40D usually so that each photo is saved both in raw and jpeg format, as this enables me to choose fast to keep raw format only for the best shots. When importing now photos to Ap, I cannot find the jpeg formats at all, all the photos appear only in raw format. In iPhoto I always got these two formats side by side. How could I get importing in Ap to work similarly in this respect?

Google: http://www.google.com/search?q=aper...s=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

As stated in the search results above it IS imported along with the RAW file. Unless you did something to modify your import RAW+JPG workflow.

2nd link shows a good way of actually 'seeing' the jpg version.

2. If I have a photo in Ap only in raw format, how can I transform it into jpeg (in case the photo is not that good, but I want to keep it and save some space) ?