Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

goMac

Contributor
Original poster
Apr 15, 2004
So disclaimer here... I work in the video industry with Final Cut Pro and After Effects, but I've traditionally done very little work with photos...

I picked up a very nice point and shoot camera, and I was thinking about picking up a copy of Aperture for home (I have it at work.) The thing is, my camera isn't a RAW camera, so I'm wondering if it would just be a waste of money... iPhoto has been working fine for me kind of... but in since I'm more in the pro industry, I thought I might feel more at home in Aperture.

Is Aperture a complete waste to use with a point and shoot? I've got a PowerShot SD970, so while it's no DLSR, it's still on the high end of point and shoots.

gr8tfly

macrumors 603
Oct 29, 2006
~119W 34N
I don't think it'd be a waste at all. Everything works the same for non-RAW (except, of course, those adjustments which are confined to RAW). You still get all the non-destructive editing, and all of the organizational features. I use it for my DSLR, point & shoot, and even iPhone.

pdxflint

macrumors 68020
Aug 25, 2006
Oregon coast
You can use all those Nik software plug-ins with Aperture for some nifty editing of your images... having said that, I'm also trying to figure out which advanced photo (above iPhoto or Picasa) applications to use, and am having some trouble understanding what the "winning" points of Aperture are when compared to Lightroom, and with the plug-ins, why would I need Photoshop, since I'm only a photographer, not a graphic artist/designer.

Ruahrc

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2009