Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MaddieBrad

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 8, 2007
New York City
Hello,
I am just getting into portraiture photography and was wondering if i could get some advice on whether to pick up Aperture, or Lightroom for post processing. I have played with trial versions of both... but don't really know enough yet to make an educated decision. I have heard that Aperture is "clunky" as described by some friends. Thanks in advance.

B

swiftaw

macrumors 603
Jan 31, 2005
Omaha, NE, USA
Search the forums, there have been many threads on this. Also search the web, there have been a couple of decent comparison reviews.

Basically though, they a roughly the same, so it comes down to which one you feel more comfortable using. Although from all reports, Aperture taxes the system resources a little more than Lightroom.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
Do a search, you'll probably find that there are three kinds of people: (i) people who love and use Aperture, (ii) people who love and use Lightroom, (iii) people who use neither ;)

I'm an Aperture guy and love the flexibility, I find it the opposite of clunky, IMHO it's the best Apple app since iTunes.

iJawn108

macrumors 65816
Apr 15, 2006
I have used both and have stuck with aperture. They are basically the same thing, I believe lightroom is cheaper but not by an amount that really matters. Also they have slightly different effects on hues when editing and such. both have trials give them a shot.

I just like the aperture environment more than i did lightroom.

Aperture

macrumors 68000
Mar 19, 2006
PA