Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Original poster
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
I was thrilled with Aperture's speed when I first started using it, but things ground to a halt when I started shooting all RAW (files are now 15-18MB each). I now get hung up waiting for Aperture to render thumbnails all the time, something it seems to do again and again in the same projects.

Is there anything I can do to speed things up? If it there is a software solution, great. If it's mainly a hardware issue, then what's my bottleneck, exactly? I'm running it on a MBP 2.4GHz (Penryn) with 4MB RAM. The hard drive I'm using is an external 7200rpm USB 2 drive.

Grimace

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2003
with Hamburglar.
I was thrilled with Aperture's speed when I first started using it, but things ground to a halt when I started shooting all RAW (files are now 15-18MB each). I now get hung up waiting for Aperture to render thumbnails all the time, something it seems to do again and again in the same projects.

Is there anything I can do to speed things up? If it there is a software solution, great. If it's mainly a hardware issue, then what's my bottleneck, exactly? I'm running it on a MBP 2.4GHz (Penryn) with 4MB RAM. The hard drive I'm using is an external 7200rpm USB 2 drive.

If the library is hosted externally, Aperture does slow down - especially with USB 2 -- firewire (of any flavor) will be much faster. In general, its handling of large RAW files has certainly gotten better, but it isn't lighting fast.

Artful Dodger

macrumors 68020
Just to add a question for another option in this thread and situation, would using an external eSATA HDD (probably a card would be needed as well using a MBP) help with the speed issues using an external eSATA HDD and Aperture? Does anyone use this type of setup and how do you like it's performance?