Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dreadgeek

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 16, 2008
Portland, OR
Hey all:

I recently made the switch from Windoze to Mac and am really starting to get into doing digital photography. I'm looking for something beyond iPhoto for managing my pictures. I use the Gimp for an all-around image editor but it's not for managing photos, just editing them. I'm looking at Aperture, am a few days into the trial and, more or less, like what I see. However, I'm a grad student and $200 is still $200 so I'm curious if I could get the consensus advice of people here. For someone who has discovered a a true passion for photography is Aperture worth the price? How does it compare to Photoshop Elements?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers
Aj

theblueone

macrumors member
Aug 5, 2007
Since you're a student, you might be able to get Aperture 2.0 from your school's bookstore for about $70. If your school is anything like mine, though, you might have a hard time finding it in stock.

As for your question, I think it would be worth paying $200 for. Of course, knowing that I can get it for much cheaper, I won't pay the full $200.

scotthayes

macrumors 68000
Jun 6, 2007
Planet Earth
Hey all:

I recently made the switch from Windoze to Mac and am really starting to get into doing digital photography. I'm looking for something beyond iPhoto for managing my pictures. I use the Gimp for an all-around image editor but it's not for managing photos, just editing them. I'm looking at Aperture, am a few days into the trial and, more or less, like what I see. However, I'm a grad student and $200 is still $200 so I'm curious if I could get the consensus advice of people here. For someone who has discovered a a true passion for photography is Aperture worth the price? How does it compare to Photoshop Elements?

Cheers
Aj