Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AjTee

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 17, 2018
Gdańsk, Poland
Hello,

I will buy new iPad Air 4. I know that I will buy Magic Keyboard for it. Considering buying Apple Pencil 2.

I am not an artists. I am normal user. I will watch movies, Netflix, AppleTV +, listen to music, browsing web and probably I will play something.

Do you recommend me to buy Apple Pencil 2?

Regards,
J.

Reactions: cdcastillo

BeatCrazy

macrumors 603
Jul 20, 2011
I think the Magic Keyboard would be a better investment. I'm not an artist either, but originally used the Apple Pencil more as a stylus/mouse pointer. Once I got the Magic Keyboard, the Pencil just sits on my desk.

Davidalan

macrumors 6502a
Nov 20, 2012
The keyboard makes a great addition to the iPad. For those times when the iPad is free from the keyboard and in a hand held positions for the purpose of surfing and or other function and in conjunction with IOS 14 the pencil adds another dimension to the iPad, the ability to scribble on any text field. That for instance, you can hand write a quick reply to an incoming text and it translates to tectx, and or even enter into a safari search bar and bingo off you go. In addition with the notes app and or other note taking apps its a wonderful tool to take hand written notes. Both work well together and complete the iPad.

Reactions: Arran

tops2

macrumors 6502
Dec 30, 2014
I ended up picking up an Apple Pencil clone from AliExpress a few months ago ($17) just to play with it. Aside from the initial few days when I got it, and the few days of iOS 14 (messing with Scribbles)...I never use it.

If you're really unsure you'll use it, another option is you can always try an Apple Pencil clone then get the genuine Apple Pencil 2 if you find you're really using it.

Reactions: Dino F and philrock

ejin222

macrumors 6502a
Oct 12, 2011