Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Do you think I can make the shatter and scratches disappear completely without screen replacement?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 7 100.0%

• Total voters

Jorban

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2018
Budapest
Hello All,

I would like to tell you a sad story.

I bought my Apple Watch series 3 aluminum 3 months ago, and I went for a swim with it and shattered/scratched the screen accidentally...that's all.

I could use some advice from you guys because I didn’t really found any helpful solutions online.

I had some options to consider:

1. Apple. Didn't work...they offered a new watch for a 100 thousand HUF (about the price you pay for a completely new watch)
  2. Screen replacement: I am not experienced in it and I don't have any tools to do it, however, there are some for eBay for 55 thousand HUF (about the half the price of a new watch).
  3. Digitizer: This is actually way more complicated than the complete screen (LCD+Digitizer) replacement, and I also don't have the experience or tools to do it, but the digitizer only costs 16 thousand HUF on eBay.
  4. Carglass. There is a company here witch repairs windshields on cars, but they won't do it, because they "just don't fix Apple Watch glasses", so this is also a fail.
  5. Some kind of special screen shield/cover? Well if you check the amount of the scratches and the "hole" on the side of the screen, you might say: there is no way it can make that disappear", or that "there isn't any kind of screen-healing technology used by some kind of manufacturer for that".