Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pshummy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 5, 2008
hi guys

im an architecture student and im beginning to want to climb into the photography world.

having bought a Lumix LX-3 two months ago (from Hong Kong) only made me wonder what the possiblities of having a DSLR would be!!

(Lumix LX3 is 10mp, 24-60mm, F.2-2.8, ISO 80-3200)

i take my LX3 with me nearly everyday so if i buy a DSLR it would only be for trips and days when i know im heading out to take nice pics, and i've read numerous threads on forums so i know the basic differences between these entry-level nikons are.

obviously i like to take architecture/landscape pics , so i know sometime in the future i'll invest in a wide angle lens. and i know my photoshop - since i use it nearly everyday in school, i can shoot raw so the image processing wont be all that important.

so here are the my thoughts on the nikons- ive been told they are better for landscapes.

d40 - cheap!! but it sounds dumb that im getting something which has less MP than my LX-3... (but i wont be printing my photos larger than A4 probably) 240GBP on amazon

d60 - more expensive!! is the sensor cleaning all that great? 340GBP on amazon

d80 - if i get this i would be getting second hand.. altho the 11point AF wont really attract me.. the bigger viewfinder, more non-menu buttons (i hate going through all the menus on my LX-3), and the internal AF motor are the plus points.. but buying second hand scares me a little. around 300GBP?!?

so.. would any experienced photographers tell me if my thoughts are correct and advice me on what are more important factors in a camera for archi/landscape shots please??

sorry i typed so much, i want to be as specific as possible so i can have specific constructive advice :p

thanks!

taylorwilsdon

macrumors 68000
Nov 16, 2006
New York City