Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hello.there

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 12, 2007
Couch
I'm really interested to know if most of you photographers are self-taught or if most/some of you took courses/got help and advice from an 'expert' friend?

If you are self-taught how exactly did you go about it? Books? Trial and error? Practise, practise, practise? Natural brilliance? :)

I'm confident enough in my ability to take good photos, I'm really happy with the collection I've put together over the past few years, I think I have a good instinct for what will look great, but having just bought my first DSLR it's a whole new ballgame for me on the technical side!

I really, really want to learn the 'mechanics' of photography (eg I need to move away from these Auto settings, I'm clueless about exposure, etc) but I hate courses! Maybe spending five years in college just put me off.

Would you just recommend that I bury my face in a few books for a while, or do you think a course is the way to go?

Would appreciate any advice, thanks.

fett

macrumors 6502
Nov 5, 2007
Calgary, AB
100% self taught. Started in July 2007.

Mostly I've learning from books, the internet and of course practice, practice and then when I think I'm improving more practice. The only other photographer I know is my dad and he hasn't taken photos since I was a little kid.

I just want to add the book Understanding exposure really helped me.

phiberglass

macrumors 6502a
Oct 3, 2007
Self Taught. I took a photo class a few years ago, but that was when I wasn't really into photography. That taught me everything about developing film though so that was good. then I stepped into the digital world not to long again and have learned everything pretty much on my own and first hand experiences and some online tutorials/forums and just general reading on photography. I still have much to learn though.

Jebaloo

macrumors 6502