Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

robwithhair

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 11, 2016
Lincoln UK
I'm an iOS developer but over the years I've had to write many Hybrid applications in Cordova. I frequently find I could make the apps so much quicker using interface builder and swift / objective-c but get forced into writing Hybrid Javascript web apps because that is what managers are 'used to' and because of the promise of 'build once, run anywhere'. I've found you just end up with a really slow clunky app with a bunch of software hacks to work around the specifics each platform requires.

I'm trying to make an argument for native app development to the business owners, who are non technical.

Does anyone have any advice or really great articles they've seen about how to get this point across?

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
Is "build once, run anywhere" (BORA) currently paying off?

I realize this depends to some extent on what the apps do, what the return-on-investment model is (i.e. what's the business case for doing the app in the first place), and the relative costs vs. returns of other development models.

If the app isn't actually being put on other platforms, then there's no benefit to "run anywhere", because there's nowhere else it's being deployed.

If this is being done because the app MIGHT be put on other platforms, then the business managers ought to evaluate the cost of simply porting an already working iOS app.

In other words, say "BORA" costs X. Then say iOS-only costs Y. Assume Y < X. Now, what's X - Y, i.e. what's the cost difference? How does that compare to the projected cost of P, which is porting Y to run on another platform at some future time. If Y + P < X, then iOS + porting costs less than BORA.

If Y < X and P is never done, then management never has to pay for P.