Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

james changstein

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 15, 2015
Detroit
I am new to iMac and got a 2017 27" iMac for Christmas - all is well until I noticed the constant humming of the fan -

It's not loud, but it's audible enough to make the work space noisy. The fan is on constantly @ 1200 rpm or so.

I have tried to reset the SMC several times to no avail... Fan comes on as soon as the computer is turned on.

Is this normal for an iMac or should I seek a replacement unit?

Thanks -
Screen Shot 2017-12-27 at 10.09.03.png

Brookzy

macrumors 601
May 30, 2010
UK
1200 RPM is the minimum fan speed so there is nothing wrong with that.

Personally I can't hear the fan at 1200 RPM on my 2017 i7 unit in an average room environment. So either you have very sensitive hearing or your fan is defective.

Reactions: james changstein

mikeboss

macrumors 68000
Aug 13, 2009
switzerland
if you're iMac is equipped with a Fusion Drive there's the possibility that you're hearing the HDD. if it's SSD only, the machine should be almost inaudible with the fan running at 1200 RPM.

Reactions: james changstein

james changstein

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 15, 2015
Detroit
1200 RPM is the minimum fan speed so there is nothing wrong with that.

Personally I can't hear the fan at 1200 RPM on my 2017 i7 unit in an average room environment. So either you have very sensitive hearing or your fan is defective.

The noise came up after a couple of days - I first thought it came from my attached hard drives as I was migrating lots of files...

Then the noise stayed - it's very loud to my ears... Talked to Apple support who agreed it was probably a defective fan. It's going back for a exchange.
[doublepost=1514395139][/doublepost]