Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

awputra

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 12, 2016
Hello,

I am a newbie here. I have been following macrumors forum but just created an account to ask some questions about Apple Watch. I have a fitbit charge HR and have been using it everyday since the first day I bought it. I am not sure should I upgrade to AW2? Anyone in this forum that has both devices? Which one you prefer and why?

I am also a swimmer and want to take advantage of AW2's swim proof. However, many articles in the internet stated that it is not totally "water proof." Any opinions and input are highly appreciated.

lordofthereef

macrumors G5
Nov 29, 2011
Boston, MA
Folks who are way more dedicated at comparing data than I am claim that the heart reatenminitor in the AW isn't as good as Fitbit. That said, did Apple change anything? They didn't mention it but we also don't have the series two in our hands.

As far as waterproofing, standard swimming you will be fine barring any hardware faults. Diving (both scuba and jumping from up high into a body of water), skiing, etc aren't recommended.

Niacchus

macrumors newbie
Dec 20, 2015
I have both and have worn both every day for the past year. (Well the AW Series 0 and the Charge HR) I have just ordered a AW Series 2 which arrives on Friday.

I really like both.

The Charge HR I prefer the health aspects, the automatic tracking, sleep tracking and the overall app. I find the app easier to view my HR data I like how it logs my exercise, the UI is better. I wish it was waterproof though as I love swimming, Not sure why the Charge 2 is not - it would be perfect for me if it was. Im not upgrading from the Charge HR this year because of this reason. Hopefully the Charge 3 is... I also dislike the custom charging cable for the fitbit.