Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shadowmoses

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 6, 2005
Basically I am looking to buy a basic digital camera to get into photography, now the features I am looking for are as follows:

-Something that doesn't require a dock every-time I want to sync my photo's or charge, I can't stand how so many digital cameras these days don't allow you to just plug in a USB cable and get your photos...

-Fairly big screen

-Fairly small and durable and good build quality

Hope someone can drop me a good recommendation as I am no pro in this field,

Thanks,

ShadoW:D

jmrnavydoc

macrumors newbie
Feb 6, 2007
Virginia
Check out the Canon Elph SD line.. screens >2.5", small (fits in a pocket) but sturdy, 3-4x optical zoom, good sensor/optics, USB connection to your computer or can take out the SD card and get a USB media card reader.

Pac a Mac

macrumors regular
Jan 26, 2007
England
Check out the Canon Elph SD line.. screens >2.5", small (fits in a pocket) but sturdy, 3-4x optical zoom, good sensor/optics, USB connection to your computer or can take out the SD card and get a USB media card reader.

Shadow, from your flickr pics you've definately got the eye. The pentax optio seems to be doing a reasonable job and your phone camera pics are cool.

There probably in not much in it between the pocket sized cameras, but if I had the cash I would go for a leica

andysc

macrumors regular
Jun 19, 2006
Orange County, CA
I'd go with any of the Sony T Series. I bought a Sony T9 when it first came out; very compact (less than 17mm thick), image stabilization (huge improvement for picture quality), great GUI, fantastic LCD screen. Couldn't be happier. also try www.dpreview.com and look around in the forums for comments and reviews. Very knowledgable people there.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA