Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NathThomas

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 24, 2016
My iphone 6 has 8% battery charge left but when i plug in the charger it jumps to 30-40% immediately. Also is there such thing as free bettery replacement? I've been using my iphone 6 since december 2014. Also theres a slightly darker shade on my screen on the top left corner. Its quite disturbing sometimes. Help please.

Alexrat1996

macrumors 601
Mar 29, 2015
Lehigh valley PA
My iphone 6 has 8% battery charge left but when i plug in the charger it jumps to 30-40% immediately. Also is there such thing as free bettery replacement? I've been using my iphone 6 since december 2014. Also theres a slightly darker shade on my screen on the top left corner. Its quite disturbing sometimes. Help please.
Take it to Apple or authorized service center

Reactions: HEK

Shadowbech

macrumors G3
Oct 18, 2011
Since it looks like you are out of warranty, it is likely they will charge you. But as always it doesn't hurt to try. Not sure if you have AppleCare plus.

akash.nu

macrumors G4
May 26, 2016
I had exactly the same issue & I got the battery replaced. Works like a charm now.

now i see it

macrumors G4
Jan 2, 2002
The battery can be damaged from the elevated voltage of constantly being on charge at 100%. It can cause the battery to swell and press on the screen... creating visible anomalies.

That happened to my ip5.
After replacing the battery, I don't keep it at 100% anymore and so far so good.

C DM

macrumors Sandy Bridge
Oct 17, 2011
The battery can be damaged from the elevated voltage of constantly being on charge at 100%. It can cause the battery to swell and press on the screen... creating visible anomalies.

That happened to my ip5.
After replacing the battery, I don't keep it at 100% anymore and so far so good.