Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Eeden

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2008
Hello Guys,

I'm new in the world of photography. As soon as the new macbook pro's come out I will get one. This will be my first mac ever!

I have practiced alot with cheap digital camera's and now I would like to buy a more serious one. I'am looking for a beginners model that has the option to expand.

I'm also looking for some good photo software to go along with my new mac. Do you guys think it is best to start learning in Photoshop elements or is it better to start with Photoshop CS4 or maybe aperture?

In the new year I will have alot of time to learn the programs en to start enjoying my camera!

I would really appreciated it if you can take the time to give me some advice

bigandy

macrumors G3
Apr 30, 2004
Murka
Aperture is fantastic, as is Photoshop - but they are two quite different tools.

I'd suggest the free trials of either when you get your new MacBook Pro.

Also, check out the alternatives - Lightroom is the alternative to Aperture, and many prefer it. I started with Aperture, so prefer that. Pixelmator is a fantastic, and far cheaper alternative to Photoshop, with a surprising amount of power.

On the camera front, I recently moved to DSLR land with a Canon EOS 400D, which cost about £200/$400 brand new off eBay. It's fantastic. Check dpreview.com for some great reviews, and rifle through Flickr via camera (e.g. 400D page) to see what they can do before buying.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Photoshop elements or is it better to start with Photoshop CS4 or maybe aperture?

So you are buying an SLR? Plan it out figure what lenses and so on you will want before you select a brand or an SLR body.