Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gangst

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 27, 2004
UK
Hi,

Well, I've decided that I would like to take up photography as a hobby and not just use my 5MP Sony T7 for family and holiday pictures.

I've looked round the net, but there is so much to consider, I really don't know where to start. I just want to be able to take really nice pictures of people, landscapes and objects,; and have the option of being a bit creative.

What I am looking for is a SLR camera which has a good range of manual settings, takes great photos and is relatively easy for a complete beginner to use. Could anyone please recommend a good camera which can take RAW photos for about £600, including lenses. Because from what I have seen, there is so much available and I really don't have a clue as to what lenses are good or not, or what they do. I've seen the Canon 350 and Nikon D50, but not really to sure what I'd want, or if these are suitable.

Also, if you take high quality photos, what options do you have for printing? Do you take them to a print shop?

Thanks for any help.

Keebler

macrumors 68030
Jun 20, 2005
Canada
online courses first?

hi gangst,

your post is so well timed. i was literally bout to post something similar.

but, before i buy a camera and you may want to follow suit.... i would like to take an online course/class on photography. i need to understand all the terminology, the lenses, shutter speeds, blah blah blah. i think that is the key before buying a camera b/c i don't know much right now, understanding more will help me buy a solid camera to last a long time. i would hate to buy a decent camera and then find i've learned enough for something better.